Research Committee

The aim of the committee is to promote the research about the stomatognathic system and its connection to the overall health and performance of the players.

Jean-Luc Dartevelle, DDS

Chair of Research Committee

Dentist at the National Instritute of Sports, Expertise and Performance (INSEP) since 2008, Federation Francaise d'Athletisme, Poles France de Judo, FFTr de Strasbourg, FFTA. Sports Dentistry courses responsible at the U.F.R Dental Faculty, Paris. Bronze medal at Youth & Sports

14 Rue du Sonnenberg, 673 70 Truchtersheim, France

Florian Gottfert, DDS

Academy for Sports Dentistry certified team dentist, German Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry certified specialist, restorative dentistry, endodontics and laser dentistry certified dentist. General secretary and member of the scientific and examination committee of the German Society of Sports Dentistry. Thomas Sabo Ice-Hockey team, German Taekwondoo national team dentist.

Diltheystrabe 14, 90409 Nurnberg, +0151/41800557

John Haughey, DDS

Practising in Ireland Dr John Haughey provides sports dentistry support to multiple athletes, including Olympians, professional team sport athletes and professional individual sport athletes. John has provided sports dentistry support for major competitions including Baku ISG 2017, Rio Olympics 2016, Baku European Olympics 2015, European Boxing Championships 2015, Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014 and London Olympics 2012. He has researched the effect of the lower jaw position on athletic performance while completing his MSc in neuromuscular therapy and contributed a chapter, titled Delivering Dental Facilities at Sporting Events, to the sports dentistry book Sports Dentistry: Principles and Practice. John is a Clinical Teaching Fellow (Sports Dentistry & Oral Health) for UCL Eastman Dental Institute in London and helps deliver the world’s only Masters in Sports Dentistry programme.

Prof. Tomotaka Takeda, DDS, PhD

Professor at the Department of Oral Health and Clinical Science, Division of Sports Dentistry, Tokyo Dental College, Japan

Please reload

6 Rue Nicolas d'Angennes, 78120 Rambouillet, France            Tel : +33 1 34 83 29 43          email :

Monday, December 16, 2019

The European Association for Sports Dentistry recognizes the need for the education of dentists about sports dentistry and encourages the development of Sports Dentistry Courses. Those courses need to meet certain criteria and standards in order to provide the dentists the best possible education. The EA4SD announces the "Criteria for an EA4SD Approved Sports Dentistry Course".                       

The Criteria for an EA4SD Approved Sports Dentistry Course

Friday, December 6th, 2019

The 1st EA4SD International Symposium at 6th ECOSEP Congress in INSEP, Paris, took place with a great success. The 3 sessions, 1 workshop and 20 international speakers presented the latest development of research, oral health in sports and injuries management. Dentists from around the world met in Paris for this unique Sports Dentistry event. ECOSEP and EA4SD made the integration of sports dentistry into sports medicine a reality!

Friday, August 30th, 2019

We are very happy to announce that the European Association for Sports Dentistry (EA4SD) is now officially affiliated with the Academy for Sports Dentistry (ASD), United States. Both EA4SD and ASD are now leading together the efforts for an even more efficient development and integration of sports dentistry worldwide.

Monday , August 19th, 2019

The World Dental Federation (FDI) and the American Dental Association (ADA) congress will take place in San Francisco, USA, September 4-8, 2019. During this congress, the new FDI Sports Dentistry Guidelines and Toolkit (by FDI Sports Dentistry Task Team : S. Dartevelle, S. Cantamessa, J-L Dartevelle, T. Stamos) will be officially presented. Dr Sophie Cantamessa (EA4SD President), Dr. Sophie Dartevelle (UFSBD President) and Prof. Tomotaka Takeda (Tokyo Dental College) will be the speakers of the Sports Dentistry lecture.

Please reload